Stan Brakhage

I have been look at Stan Brakhage’s work for inspiration on my more abstract shots. Brakhage used an unusual technique of pasting and painting images and materials directly onto a roll of film. Brakhage is said to have had a fascination with the physicality of film, hence his literal editing and mutation of film material.

Here is Brakhages film: Mothlight

I like the way that although you can see that the images are of moths wings, it is also more of an exploration of light and shape, which I what I want to try and achieve with my shots of ink in water and the tadpoles.

Leave a Reply

